Mark v5.0/v5.1 SUPERSEDED (error-detection thesis failed at -0.40 delta); v4.1 is canonical. Cut v4.1 proposal with 12 version strings bumped. Moonshot to Mistral across production seats; production worker de-kimi'd 2026-08-18. Data-retention posture corrected 7/9 to 8/9 no-training (DeepSeek sole exception). Reconciled COGS with measured Mistral spend. Committed deployed v4.0 content and research docs to resolve the repo/live fork.
15 KiB
VerdictTank: Bottom-Up SAM Estimate and Competitive Landscape
Prepared by Hermes Agent subagent. All data current as of 2026-08-18. Every figure carries a source URL; figures that are not publicly disclosed are explicitly labeled as estimates or "not disclosed."
1. ICP (Ideal Customer Profile) Definition
VerdictTank critiques submitted business proposals and pitch decks via a panel of ~10 AI models acting as independent reviewers. It does NOT write proposals. The ICP is three segments, all US-based:
| Segment | Who | Why they buy | Willingness to pay |
|---|---|---|---|
| A. Startup founders | Pre-seed and seed founders preparing to raise (or raising) | Need a fast, cheap "mock investor panel" before they spend weeks pitching | High for a $29-$119 critique vs. a $5K-$25K consultant |
| B. Small proposal / RFP teams and independent consultants | Solo proposal writers, grant writers, 1-5 person bid teams | Need a "red team" second opinion on drafts before submission | Moderate; already pay for RFP software at $75-$899/mo |
| C. Investors / advisors | VCs, angels, accelerators, advisors reviewing inbound decks | Triage and screen inbound decks faster | Lower; adjacent, not core buyers |
2. Bottom-Up SAM Estimate
2.1 Addressable buyer count (US, annual)
Segment A - Startup founders actively fundraising: ~20,000/year
- Anchor: 5,049 US pre-seed and seed deals closed in 2025 (NVCA 2026 Yearbook).
- Funnel assumption: for every deal that closes, roughly 3 additional founders pitch but do not close in the same year (documented assumption, not sourced). This gives ~20,000 founders actively preparing investor materials in a given year.
- Cross-check: over 55,000 VC-backed companies are operating in the US (PitchBook Q1 2024); these founders re-raise periodically and refresh decks, but they are not all "actively raising" in any single year.
Segment B - Proposal/RFP teams and independent consultants: ~50,000
- Floor anchor: ~10,500 members of APMP (Association of Proposal Management Professionals), the main bid/proposal professional body, worldwide (APMP LinkedIn). The US portion is the majority.
- Broad anchor: ~1 million management consulting firms in the US (IBISWorld 2026), but only a single-digit percentage bid on formal RFPs/proposals regularly.
- Software-buyer anchor: the entire RFP response software category is served by a few thousand enterprise accounts (Loopio ~1,000 customers, Responsive larger). This implies the "software-paying proposal team" pool is in the tens of thousands, not millions.
- Estimate: 50,000 US proposal/bid professionals and small teams who would pay for a review tool. This is the softest segment; sensitivity shown below.
Segment C - Investors / advisors: ~15,000
- 3,417 US VC firms (NVCA Yearbook, end of 2023); "close to 8,500" individual US venture capitalists by 2024 (Ilya Strebulaev, Stanford, via LinkedIn).
- Add active angels and accelerator program managers (assumption, no clean single source).
- Only a minority would pay for a review tool, so this segment is treated as secondary.
Total addressable buyers: ~85,000 US entities/year (20,000 + 50,000 + 15,000).
2.2 Attach rate and blended ARPU
Attach rate (share of addressable buyers who become paying customers over a ~3-year horizon):
| Scenario | Attach rate | Paying accounts |
|---|---|---|
| Low | 1.0% | ~850 |
| Base | 1.5% | ~1,275 |
| High | 3.0% | ~2,550 |
Blended ARPU assumption (base case): ~$120/month. This is driven by Pro ($119/mo) as the dominant tier, with a small drag from one-shot $29 purchases and a small uplift from Enterprise ($699/mo) and White-Label ($3,000/mo). Rationale: the pre-set pricing ladder centers on Pro; White-Label and Enterprise are thin tails, not the median buyer.
2.3 SAM result (bottom-up, obtainable revenue)
| Scenario | Paying accounts | Blended ARPU | Annual SAM | Monthly SAM |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Low | ~850 | $120/mo | ~$1.22M | ~$102K |
| Base | ~1,275 | $120/mo | ~$1.84M | ~$153K |
| High | ~2,550 | $120/mo | ~$3.67M | ~$306K |
Headline: bottom-up SAM of roughly $1.2M-$3.7M per year, with a base case of $1.8M/year ($153K/month).
For context, the theoretical ceiling if 100% of the 85,000 addressable buyers converted at $120/mo would be ~$122M/year. That is a "SAM at full penetration" figure, not an obtainable target; the obtainable range above is the realistic planning number.
2.4 Sensitivity notes
- Segment B (proposal teams/consultants) is the widest and softest estimate. If it were 25,000 instead of 50,000, base-case SAM drops to ~$1.3M/year. If it were 100,000, base case rises to ~$2.7M/year.
- Blended ARPU is sensitive to Enterprise/White-Label mix. At a conservative $95/mo blended ARPU, base-case SAM is ~$1.45M/year; at $150/mo it is ~$2.3M/year.
- International expansion (EU/UK, India, Southeast Asia) is excluded; it would roughly double or triple the addressable pool but is not modeled here.
3. Competitive Table
Direct = critiques/feedback on pitch decks or proposals. Adjacent = writes or automates proposals/decks (competes for the same budget, different job).
| Competitor | What it does | Pricing (public) | Funding raised | ARR / revenue / traction | Position vs VerdictTank |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Preuve (preuve.ai) | Single-report AI idea validation plus an investor package with a pitch deck. Multi-pass (not multi-model) verdict, TAM/SAM/SOM, competitor mapping, 60+ live sources. | Free Reality Check; Founder Report $29 one-time; packs 5x $95 / 10x $159; Investor-Ready $499; Radar Pro $19/mo; Lifetime $499-$999 | Bootstrapped, solo founder (Vincent Forat), no VC disclosed | 6,500+ ideas scanned; revenue-generating but ARR not disclosed | Closest single-report price anchor ($29). Critiques ideas more than decks; does not run a 10-model adversarial panel and does not critique client/business proposals. |
| Evalyze (evalyze.ai) | AI pitch deck analysis (1,000-point score, strengths/weaknesses, benchmark vs thousands of decks) plus investor matching and pitch coaching. | Free Starter; Pro $20/mo ($10/mo annual, $120/yr); Managed "Let's Talk" | Not disclosed (Singapore/SMU-adjacent early-stage) | Trained on "thousands" of decks; ARR not disclosed | Closest functional match on "critique a pitch deck." Bundles investor matching + coaching rather than a 10-model panel; no proposal/RFP critique, no white-label tier published. |
| PitchGrade (pitchgrade.com) | AI pitch deck generator plus deck feedback, SWOT, and business research. | Free; Pro $7.99/mo; Agent $49.99/mo (G2 AI marketplace) | Not disclosed | 10,000+ founders (marketing claim) | Low-price deck feedback and generation; single-model, no reviewer panel, no proposal critique. |
| PitchBob (pitchbob.io) | AI pitch deck generator (writes decks) plus AI Pitch Trainer for investor Q&A. | One-time $29.90 (Advanced) / $49.90 (Pro) / $99.90 (Super Pro) | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Writes decks, does not critique; the Pitch Trainer is adjacent to a "mock investor" but is generation, not multi-model review. |
| Loopio (loopio.com) | RFP / security questionnaire / proposal response software (content library + AI drafting). Writes responses, does not critique. | Quote-based; Foundations tier ~$20K/yr entry (third party); ~$120/user/mo per Vendr; $11.7K-$55.7K/yr observed range | $9M Series A (OpenView, 2018) + $200M growth investment (Sumeru Equity Partners, 2021); ~$252M CAD total PE per Clay | ~$34.2M estimated ARR (GetLatka 2025); ~1,000 customers, ~311 employees | Enterprise incumbent for the proposal segment. Not a critique tool; validates the budget exists in the proposal workflow but does not compete on review. |
| Responsive (responsive.io, formerly RFPIO) | Strategic Response Management platform for enterprise RFPs/RFIs. | Quote-based (enterprise) | ~$27.1M raised over 4 rounds (CB Insights) | ~$67.1M estimated ARR (GetLatka 2025); claims $1T+ in managed opportunities | Largest enterprise RFP player. Same non-overlap as Loopio; shows the proposal-software budget ceiling. |
| DeepRFP (deeprfp.com) | AI RFP analysis, proposal drafting, compliance matrices, and review for small teams and consultants. | Pro $75/user/mo, Elite $125/user/mo (third party); site also cites $89/user/mo | Not disclosed | 5.0/5 Capterra, self-described "built by a proposal writer" | Has a "Proposal Reviews" feature but it reviews your own drafts against compliance/clarity, not a multi-model adversarial panel with scored verdicts. |
| Free alternatives (SeedAngels, OpenVC, Slidebean, SeedBlink, pitchleague.ai) | Free AI pitch deck scoring/feedback | $0 | n/a | n/a | Set the free floor. SeedAngels scores 34 criteria across 8 themes; OpenVC and Slidebean give free AI reviews. VerdictTank must sell depth (10-model panel, live grounding, per-dimension findings) above a zero-price baseline. |
Notable data-quality flags
- GetLatka funding figures are unreliable. GetLatka lists Loopio at "$8.6M raised" (contradicted by Loopio's own $9M Series A plus $200M PE) and lists Responsive as "bootstrapped, $0 raised" (contradicted by CB Insights' $27.1M over 4 rounds). Funding figures above use Loopio's own announcements and CB Insights, not GetLatka.
- Loopio and Responsive ARR are third-party estimates (GetLatka), not audited figures. Treat as order-of-magnitude.
- Loopio "$899+/mo" is not a current public price. Loopio does not publish list pricing; the ~$20K/year entry figure is a third-party estimate. The $899/mo figure in the brief is closer to AutoRFP.ai's published "Scale" tier.
4. Positioning Observations
- The "critique" niche is mostly served by free tools and adjacent generators. The clear commercial competitors on "AI review of a pitch deck" are Evalyze ($10-$20/mo), PitchGrade ($7.99-$49.99/mo), and Preuve ($29 one-shot). None runs a 10-model adversarial panel with live grounding, and none covers business/RFP proposals.
- The proposal side is dominated by writers, not reviewers. Loopio, Responsive, DeepRFP, and AutoRFP.ai (Scale $899/mo, Accelerate $1,299/mo, per AutoRFP's own pricing) all generate or automate responses. A "red team" critique product slots into the workflow they already own, either as an add-on or as a wedge for smaller teams who cannot afford Loopio/Responsive.
- White-label is a genuine differentiator. No competitor found publishes a white-label/reseller tier. VerdictTank's $3,000/mo White-Label tier targets consultants and agencies (including Preuve's own "for consultants & agencies" audience), a segment no incumbent serves explicitly.
- Pricing sits in a defensible gap. $29 one-shot matches Preuve; $119/mo sits between free tools ($0) and the RFP suites ($75-$899/mo), and well below the $5K-$25K consultant benchmark Preuve itself cites.
5. Sources
Market size:
- Census Business Formation Statistics (July 2026: 578,926 business applications): https://www.census.gov/econ/bfs/current/index.html
- Commerce Institute, new businesses per year (2024: 5.2M applications): https://www.commerceinstitute.com/new-businesses-started-every-year/
- Finder new business statistics (2024: 5.48M applications): https://www.finder.com/small-business/new-businesses
- NVCA 2026 Yearbook (2025 US VC: 5,049 pre-seed/seed deals): https://nvca.org/2026-nvca-yearbook/
- PitchBook Q1 2024 (55,000+ VC-backed US companies): https://pitchbook.com/news/articles/venture-capital-trends-charts-q1-2024
- SSTI, state of US VC 2024 (~4,400 seed deals, $14.7B): https://ssti.org/blog/useful-stats-state-us-venture-capital-2024
- NVCA Yearbook (3,417 US VC firms end of 2023): https://nvca.org/nvca-yearbook/
- Ilya Strebulaev on US VC count (close to 8,500 by 2024): https://www.linkedin.com/posts/ilyavcandpe_the-number-of-us-venture-capitalists-has-activity-7388957379717144576-gSTj
- OpenVC, US VC landscape (2,500+ active firms): https://www.openvc.app/country/USA
- IBISWorld, Management Consulting in the US (1M businesses): https://www.ibisworld.com/united-states/industry/management-consulting/1421/
- APMP (membership ~10,500; $170/yr dues): https://www.linkedin.com/company/apmp and https://www.apmp.org/
- MBO Partners State of Independence 2024: https://www.mbopartners.com/state-of-independence/2024-report
- Grant Professionals Association: https://grantprofessionals.org/
Competitors:
- Preuve pricing: https://preuve.ai/pricing
- Preuve about (Vincent Forat, bootstrapped, 6,500+ ideas): https://preuve.ai/consultants/about
- Loopio pricing: https://loopio.com/pricing/
- Vendr, Loopio pricing (~$120/user/mo): https://www.vendr.com/marketplace/loopio
- AutoRFP, Loopio pricing breakdown (~$20K/yr entry): https://autorfp.ai/blog/loopio-pricing
- Responsive, Loopio pricing comparison ($11,682-$55,704/yr): https://www.responsive.io/glossary/compare/loopio-pricing
- Loopio $200M investment announcement ($9M Series A, $200M Sumeru): https://loopio.com/blog/loopio-200-million-investment/
- Clay, Loopio funding ($261M total): https://www.clay.com/dossier/loopio-funding
- GetLatka, Loopio ($34.2M est ARR, ~1,000 customers): https://getlatka.com/companies/loopio.com
- CB Insights, Responsive/RFPIO funding ($27.1M over 4 rounds): https://www.cbinsights.com/company/rfpio/financials
- GetLatka, Responsive ($67.1M est ARR): https://getlatka.com/companies/Responsive
- Responsive 2026 business update ($1T managed opportunities): https://www.responsive.io/news/2026-business-update
- Evalyze pitch deck analysis: https://www.evalyze.ai/pitch-deck-analysis
- Evalyze pricing (Free / $20 monthly / $10 annual / Managed): https://www.evalyze.ai/pricing
- PitchGrade (Free, Pro $7.99/mo, Agent $49.99/mo): https://ai.g2.com/marketplace/tools/pitchgrade and https://pitchgrade.com/
- PitchBob pricing ($29.90-$99.90): https://pitchbob.io/ and https://skywork.ai/skypage/en/PitchBob-Review-How-I-Used-AI-to-Create-an-Enterprise-SaaS-Sales-Slidedeck/1975014725831553024
- DeepRFP (Pro $75 / Elite $125 per user/mo): https://autorfp.ai/blog/best-rfp-software and https://deeprfp.com/
- AutoRFP pricing (Scale $899/mo, Accelerate $1,299/mo): https://autorfp.ai/blog/best-rfp-software
- SeedAngels free pitch deck analyzer (34 criteria): https://seedangels.ai/pitch-deck-analyzer
- OpenVC free AI pitch deck review: https://www.openvc.app/blog/pitch-deck-reviews-now-free-for-everyone
- Slidebean free AI pitch deck reviewer: https://slidebean.com/pitch-deck-reviewer
6. Explicit Assumptions (recap)
- US-only ICP; international excluded.
- Segment A = 5,049 seed/pre-seed deals (NVCA 2025) times a 4x pitching-funnel multiplier = ~20,000 founders/year. The 4x multiplier is an assumption, not a sourced figure.
- Segment B = 50,000 proposal/consulting professionals, anchored on APMP (~10.5K members) and IBISWorld (~1M consulting firms), triangulated against a software-paying pool in the tens of thousands. Widest-error-bar segment.
- Segment C = 15,000 investors/advisors, anchored on 3,417 US VC firms and ~8,500 individual VCs plus angels.
- Attach rate 1.0%-3.0% over a ~3-year horizon (base 1.5%).
- Blended ARPU ~$120/month, driven by Pro ($119/mo) as the median paid tier.
- No ARR/revenue figure for Preuve, Evalyze, PitchGrade, PitchBob, or DeepRFP is public; where a traction signal exists (e.g., Preuve's 6,500+ ideas, PitchGrade's 10,000+ founders) it is a marketing claim, not audited data.